Backyard Babies (Midi 2008)

From Music-China Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Backyard Babies (Midi 2008)



Nicke Borg – lead vocals / guitar

Dregen – lead guitar / vocals

Johan Blomquist – bass

Peder Carlsson – drums


Backyard Babies is a Swedish Rock’n Roll band, formed in the city of Nässjö in 1987, originally comprising singer Tobbe, guitarist Dregen, bassist Johan Blomqvist and drummer Peder Carlsson. After recording a rough demo and playing a few local live dates, in 1989 the group dismissed Tobbe and replaced him with singer Nicke Borg; two more demos followed, as did a national tour, and in 1991 the Backyard Babies launched their first official release, the EP Something to Swallow. Signing with the Swedish Megarock label in 1993, the following year the quartet issued their first full-length effort, Diesel & Power, before going on hiatus to allow Dregen the chance to work with his other band, The Hellacopters. The Backyard Babies reunited in 1997 for the album Total 13 and later released Making Enemies is Good (2001) and Stockholm Syndrome (2003).

Like People Like People Like Us

Decadence has always been the cornerstone of rock ‘n’ roll. From brazen attitudes to loud riffs, rock ‘n’ roll has always been indulgent in life’s sinful pleasures. Naturally, it only makes sense for rock ‘n’ roll’s musical output to personify its ideals; enter BACKYARD BABIES. The ballsy and rockin' four-piece from Nässjö, Sweden, preceded any recent ‘rock revival’ when they formed back in 1989, before the Swedish invasion began to sink its teeth in with The Hives, The Hellacopters and the like. After releasing their debut EP in 1991, “Something To Swallow” and their 1994 full-length entitled “Diesel And Power” guitarist Dregen started to work with The Hellacopters as well. Upon recommencing in 1998, the BACKYARD BABIES released “Total 13”, 2001’s “Making Enemies Is Good” and 2003’s “Stockholm Syndrome” which epitomized what rock is all about, decadently delicious songs and the cockiest of attitudes. “Making Enemies Is Good” and “Stockholm Syndrome” both earned BACKYARD BABIES a Swedish Grammy and a personal nod from Velvet Revolver as well as AC/DC to open their European tours, thus cementing the band’s reputation as a force to be reckoned with.

After releasing last year’s compilation and live CD package, “Tinnitus + Live Live In Paris” BACKYARD BABIES again turned heads when they toured alongside Social Distortion in Europe and the U.S. Never resting on their laurels, the Babies have a new album brimming with confidence and their patented throwback rock flair. Produced by Nicke Andersson, guitarist from The Hellacopters, the new album, entitled “People Like People Like People Like Us” is a celebration of all that the Babies have been known for while giving listeners a few new sonic treats in the process. The band: “It’s more a dynamic album with a more modulated sound where Nicke Andersson taught us how to ‘play together’. But at the same time it was his restlessness that gave the album its honest and simple sound. We wrote more intensely and under a shorter period of time than ever before. A challenge that proved to be just positive since you don’t have time to analyze everything to pieces.”

Known as real road dogs, BACKYARD BABIES will go on tour right after the album release in April. “We have never been this anxious to hit the stages again, cause playin’ live is the only fuel this band needs to keep on being the counterweight in a fucked up business.” Pleased to meet you

-- Backyard Babies



  • Diesel & Power (1993)
  • Total 13 (1997)
  • Making Enemies is Good (2001)
  • Stockholm Syndrome (2003)
  • Like People Like People Like People Like Us (2006)

Live Albums

  • Safety Pin & Leopard Skin (1998)
  • Live Live in Paris (2005)

Collection Albums

  • Independent Days (2001)
  • From Demos to Demons 1989-1992 (2002)
  • Tinnitus

Singles and 7”

  • Electric Suzy (1994)
  • Look at You (1997)
  • Highlights (1998)
  • Is It Still Alright To Smile? (1998) rare 7” featuring Ginger from The Wildhearts
  • Brand New Hate (2001)

Further information

Participant on Midi Music Festival 2008