The Ocean China Tour 2011

From Music-China Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
Official Poster

The Ocean China Tour 2011 Beijing Gig is an metal show in M.A.O.


General Information

Headliner: The Ocean (Germany)

Warmup Bands: The Reason, Multi-Ego

Date: 2011-10-06, Thursday 8pm

Venue: MAO Livehouse Beijing

Add: Dongcheng Dist. Gulou East Rd. 111

Tickets: 80 RMB (Pre-Sale) / 120 RMB (at Door)

Phone: 010-62159844 010-64025080

Ticket Service:

Organizers: Painkiller Magazine / NewNoise / PK-ICON Promotions /


As the first post-metal band touring on Mainland China, The Ocean will overbring heavy waves of mysterically metamophobic sounds and modern visual live shows beyond the spirit our time:

5 Silhouettes, their backlit bodies moving frenetically in front of the monstrous LED lighting rigs, flashing synchronized to every little change in the music: watching THE OCEAN perform live is an experience. The videos, the lighting and more than anything, the music - orchestral, dense and epic - all contribute to that certain atmosphere that sets THE OCEAN apart from most of their peers in the realm of modern day\'s heavy music. The lynch-esque play with darkness and dynamics make it easy for the listener to get lost in the dismal oceanic spheres.

The band originated in 2001, the band\'s live show was conceptualized and improved here, and over the years, a collective of musicians from classical as well as rock music backgrounds formed around band founder and mastermind Robin Staps. Despite all these initial hardships and the ever-changing lineup, the ocean collective have released 6 critically acclaimed studio albums over the course of the past 6 years. Praise of their 80 minutes concept-opus "Precambrian" (2007) spread like wildfire in the communit.

The Ocean (Germany).png

After more than 500 shows all over the world and successful headlining tours in Europe and the US, THE OCEAN has transformed from a collective into a band. The 2009 album "Heliocentric" featured the largest number of additional musicians to date, mainly classical players.

In 2010 The Ocean released their opus magnum with the separately-released double-album "Heliocentric" and "Anthropocentric". This enormous conceptual effort took almost 2 years to be completed. From a lyrical and artistic point of view, the albums represent a fundamental and philosophical critique of Christianity. Both albums scored rave reviews all over the world, including "album of the month" in Metal Hammer Germany, Italy and Greece and a cover feature on the December- issue of Metal Hammer UK / Subterranea. AMG Magazine (US) stated that "This is the most forward-thinking statement by the Ocean yet, and stands as the most seamlessly integrated and consistent recording they\'ve issued to date", and Rock Sound (UK) found the album to be "Luxurious, tectonic, ingenious, calculated, charismatic, enterprising, dextrous, inventive, unrestrained, fascinating and poignant."


  • "Same" CD (2002)
  • "Fogdiver" CD / LP (2003)
  • "Fluxion" CD (2004)
  • "Aeolian" CD (2005)
  • "Precambrian" 2xCD / 3xLP (2007)
  • "Fluxion" CD re-release (2009)
  • "Heliocentric" CD / 2xLP (2010)
  • "Anthropocentric" CD / 2xLP (2010)

Current core line-up:

  • drums: Luc Hess
  • guitars: Robin Staps, Jonathan Nido
  • bass: Louis Jucker
  • vocals: Loïc Rossetti


  • September 22nd 上海 Shanghai - Yu Yin Tang
  • September 23rd 武汉 Wuhan - VOX Bar
  • September 24th 成都 Chengdu - Little Bar
  • September 25th 重庆 Changqing - Nuts
  • September 29th 广州 Guangzhou - Space
  • September 30th 香港 Hongkong - Hidden Agenda
  • October 2nd 深圳 Shenzhen - Hong Tang Guan
  • October 4th 镇江 Zhenjiang - Modern Sky Festival
  • October 5th 北京 Beijing - Modern Sky Festival
  • October 6th 北京 Beijing - MAO Livehouse

Further Information

Official pages